A STAR CROSSED LOVE

Image result for cloudy skiesShe draws me to herself- beautiful and sensuous.. there is no one like her!!! Her brown skin rough in parts, soft and pliable at other places… I watch her from afar, her beauty glistening in the heat of the summer sun, blushing  red.

Extremely hardworking, she produces all that her children need. Her ability to sustain and nurture knows no bounds! Everyone grows and glows under her care. She extends her arms to all who need her love feeding anyone who is hungry. I cannot remember anyone she has turned away.

I don’t know when this fascination for her began..? Probably since the time this universe was conceived?

An entity who is bound to the seas and who has no fixed home, I have been attracted by the sense of constancy and the permanence that she symbolizes. She waits for me every time- this wanderer whenever I decide to come ashore from my voyages across the world.

Thiruvananthapuram as usual or Mumbai I wonder as I look for a port to disembark. A part of me wants to go to Kolkata. But east or west, I knew it was towards her that I was heading. The blue seas are no replacement for her love.

I see her from the middle of the ocean perspiring in the summer heat as I get ready to drop anchor at – yes… Thiruvananthapuram it will be this time as always! It always holds a special fascination for me

I long to touch her heated body …grasping it in my arms and making love to her , achieving the ecstasy that only both of us can experience.  Somewhere,  a small doubt  creeps into my mind- Will she love me like before I wonder?

Yes, she sees me now.. she is waving out at me as I jump ashore and pull her into my arms! I smell her fragrance as we unite in our love.

Our bodies come together in unison as lightening strikes. We  hold on to each other as only the ones truly in love can. She refuses to let go of me… I don’t want to go. I spend time with her and our children .. there are so many now!

Three months, four and then five. She blooms under my love, bedecking herself with flowers and her beautiful green robes. Green.. that is the colour that she looks her best in- I look at her with pride .. my beloved beauty!

It is time to go.. the wander lust is getting to me. This permanence, constancy and the predictability of my beloved now suddenly become stifling. ! The sea beckons as I get ready to leave.

She cries.. holding on to me. I feel miserable to leave her like this to raise our children all alone. She has never asked me for anything other than my love. Makes me feel more like a wretch!

But a wandering soul like me cannot be tied down- it is my identity and may be my destiny? A destiny that keeps me away from my beloved for almost half a year! Sometimes during my more saner moments, I think that maybe this is all for the best. After all,  were I to stay permanently with her I may lose the charm of the mysterious,  passionate lover … I would then become more  demanding  of her time and making her ignore her children.. may be I would even harm our children through my constant presence- and if I did I knew she would not spare me! She was a mother first and a lover only later….

I hit the Bay of Bengal and start sailing through it.. A  sudden feeling of grief sweeps over  me as I pass Chennai. I disembark.. She is there… again my unfailing love-arms outstretched for me..

One last time.. I think as we kiss and make love .

Then it is good bye forever until June next year  when I, Sameer will come across the Arabian sea to meet her again –my beloved Vasundhara!

( The monsoons symbolize a season of life, love and romance in South Asia when the dry parched earth rejuvenates and becomes green again. The heated land mass of the Indian subcontinent draws into herself the monsoon winds every year in June. I have tried to depict here that romance of the monsoon winds and their attraction for this land – bizarre I know.. this way of explaining a physical phenomenon through romance.. May be it was the effect of Venus taking a walk through my life last night when I wrote it.)

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KP
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 17:26:07

    Quite an imaginative post.After the visits Sameer leaves a drenched Vasundara in full bloom waiting again for his next visit symbolising the eternal love between the two-the monsoon and earth.Beautifully and romantically narrated.

    Reply

  2. Meera
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 17:29:49

    Merci Beau coup Partha!!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Anilkumar Kurup
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 17:31:12

    Well, well , gave me fair feeling of what you were on, even when I passed the first para. But, a wonderful idea. If I may take the liberty of expressing my amateur opinion , I felt that there could be more power and passion in the words and the formation of sentences. Especially the beginning, perhaps needed more polish.
    Again, please see me as not opinionated, but suggesting what I felt.
    A bunch of flowers for this fantastic idea of seeing monsoon and the land as lover and paramour.

    Perhaps , if you have not read the book ( later made into a TV series by the BBC), “Chasing the Monsoon” written by Alexander Frater, get it. It describes him , chasing the monsoon from the south of Thiruvanathapuram all across to the north and east of the subcontinent. Pretty fascinating.
    Good Meera let imagination go wild.

    Reply

    • Meera
      Jun 07, 2012 @ 17:41:03

      Anil, I don’t know what you do for a living but if you were to tell me that you are a literary critic I would gladly believe you..Thanks but I did not want to use forceful words -deliberately the effect was to keep it ethereal in the beginning making the readers guess and keeping the passion for later – hence the different style towards the end. But thanks anyway for that bunch of flowers.

      PS I must read that book!

      Reply

      • Anilkumar Kurup
        Jun 09, 2012 @ 15:01:46

        Meera,it is certainly the writers prerogative. I agree. However, I would prefer a little more ( let me rephrase the “strong words”) to mean , sublime and passionate description in the beginning so that little more intensity in passion is generated.. Perhaps you can try a redraft to see , if you can agree, just for exploration sake.

        Ha, as for my profession, I’m a far cry fro what you would like to allege,”literary critic”..My only liaison with commenting on writings is on the blog.

  4. Bikramjit Singh Mann
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 17:35:42

    hmmm well I am not that good ..
    but i liked the way you have used monsoon , as the male in the story .. june next year is a aweful long time to wait ..

    Bikram’s

    Reply

  5. Jack
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 19:31:49

    Meera,

    Venus did make you explain love between monsoon winds and parched land so beautifully.

    Take care

    Reply

  6. bhavana
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 21:13:43

    That was beautiful–almost like a Tagore’s Rabindra Sangeet–his songs before monsoons would come and when monsoon leaves–Mone ei ki didha–what is this pain I feel in my heart…

    Reply

  7. Deepa
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 21:47:34

    Almost like a sailor who has a girl in every port of call. Not your usual style. Good attempt. Unusual.

    Reply

  8. renu
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 11:59:04

    realised in first few lines that you are referring to earth:)

    Reply

  9. Writes2escape
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 15:01:24

    This is gorgeous piece of writing. Very deep. I liked the beginning a lot!

    Reply

  10. Gayu
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 18:39:37

    Monsoon…I love this season…romantic, little gloomy,silent..!!!!!
    Lovely story Meera.

    Reply

  11. Juggler
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 12:01:32

    Going through your stories one by one. This love story is so beautiful, it makes my heart beat faster and feel the longing you have described.

    Reply

  12. Hari Sankar
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 12:02:50

    Meera Di..Loved it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

