The Gift ( Part 8)

Arulappa

He  could not believe his ears!!  He had heard about the news through the grapevine initially but now it was confirmed!  That new Assistant Commissioner fellow Ravi Kumar was moving out of the department! Chellamuthu had just confirmed that the order had been received. The man was going to leave by the end of the week!

Arulappa, thanked the almighty for his grace. All these months, he had been very stressed about the matters that were getting unearthed in the department.  That fellow had already suspended four officers and there was no telling what  might have happened further.

But now the coast was clear!  There was no immediate replacement in sight. The Commissioner was busy with larger policy issues to intervene in the day today functioning of the department. So it was obviously going to be a free for all until someone joined. And if lady luck continued to smile on him it might take another few months before THAT happened. He skipped around his table thinking about the various possibilities!

“ I must give an appropriate gift for this fellow. After all, he has indirectly done us all a favor by leaving” thought Arulappa with a smile.

He wondered what he should give? Had to be something  worthy! Something that showed this man that he, Arulappa was not exactly a brain less moron who was only interested in taking bribes!

Ravi Kumar

Ravi Kumar IAS , was busy stacking his things into a carton before getting ready to leave for the day. He was relieved that he was getting out of this minefield of corruption.  And he was sure most of the  people here were also glad to see him go- though of course those hypocrites had waxed eloquent at the farewell function about  what a loss it had been to the department to see him go.

He was glad that he had been able to find a posting in same district where Mita was the Collector.  It was nothing  high profile – he would be Project director for a World Bank supported  water and sanitation program that covered her district and the two surrounding ones.  Hardly any work.. ! But he had had to use all the good will that he had in the state civil services to swing that posting! He was glad that the Chief Secretary liked him. It had been difficult explaining matters to him. But he had managed – family issues, his son’s behavior in school etc.  The Chief Secretary was initially reluctant ,suggesting instead that he could recommend Mitali’s transfer to the State Capital. But Ravi had hastily intervened telling him about how much she liked the district and how well she was performing there..! He had not seemed very convinced. But Ravi had persisted- after all he could not exactly tell him that his wife had left him thinking he was reading books on kinky sex  and moving to where she was posted was the only way to save his marriage!

He picked up a framed photo of Mitali and Amit  from his table and wiped it before putting it back into the carton.  He was missing both of them terribly. He knew, it would not be easy to convincing her but then his going there  would certainly be signal enough to her that he was willing to make amends- though for what he was not exactly sure!  He wished, his wife did not have such a fertile imagination!

Just as he bent down to shut one of the drawers, he heard a knock on the door.

“Saar. Can I come in” asked Arulappa

“ Yes. What is it?” asked Ravi impatiently

 “ Saar, I have a small gift for you, which I wanted to hand over to you personally” said Arulappa, extending a gift wrapped parcel towards him.

“ Look, I don’t accept gifts” said Ravi getting ready to leave.

“But Saar, you will definitely appreciate this gift” said Arulappa thrusting the parcel back at him.

Ravi, sighed! He had better accept this thing- whatever it was and leave quickly before another herd descended on him with gifts!

“ Thank you” he said putting it back into the carton.

“Saar please open it” said  Arulappa with an ingratiating smile.

Ravi shook his head impatiently and tore open the wrapping.He might as well get this over with!

His hands froze as did his gaze when he saw what was inside … There were three books- obviously a trilogy

“Fifty Shades of Grey” , “Fifty shades darker” and  “Fifty shades freed”

( Concluded)

( Fifty Shades of Grey is the first among a trilogy of  books of a category  called “erotica”. It is the story of Anastasia and Christian Grey featuring explicit scenes of Bondage, dominance and sado masochism. I am giving below the link to a post that I did in my other blog on this  http://meerareflections.blogspot.in/2012/10/fifty-shades-too-weird.html. Those are my views on the book. However you might like to read up Wikipedia  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fifty_Shades_of_Grey for more objective facts on the “hero”  of this story:) )

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KP
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 21:42:48

    That is a quick job.You have made amends for the delay in posting the earlier part.You have introduced the many characters and the story would now unfurl the interesting happenings keeping the readers in suspense till the final stages.I am unable to guess how you would take the story.That is the best part.

    Reply

  2. KP
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 22:44:55

    i just saw you had written that the story is concluded.It is rather an abrupt end.I thought it lent itself to longer narration

    Reply

  3. Meera
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 15:47:51

    Hi KP, I would not call this an abrupt end. It was anyway moving up to that point. Thanks a ton for all your comments. Kept my spirit up. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Scott Utley
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 10:53:35

    I am baffled, sort of. I haven’t read the other parts, but I was getting used to your narrative and getting into the mood for a story, and I even googled a few names, as I found that they were, just to be clear. I was ready to go wherever you wanted to lead, and then …Fifty Shades of Grey – I thought this was/is so very, very funny. I cannot say why but it makes me wonder about Arulappa and Saar. What is really going on? 🙂 I am quite the pervert so I have many thoughts. I love being surprised.

    Reply

    • Meera
      Jul 21, 2013 @ 14:08:34

      @ Scott, I can imagine you feeling baffled because one has to read the other parts to understand the entire “story” ( well there isn’t much of a story in this anyway 🙂 ). It is the story of an “inappropriate” gift given to a person and how this gift passes on to different people causing “havoc” in their lives- goes through a government office in India, through a bureaucrat’s hands, students and teachers in a Jesuit institution etc!! Glad you like the style. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Harish
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 20:11:10

    I’ve been quietly following the story and secretly admiring your writing skills. Incredible. Powerful. Magnificent. I loved the story from the start and I loved the ending. Beautifully penned down. You could turn it into a small e-book and put it up on Amazon kindle. Thousands of readers will be delighted to read it. Wish you all the best with your future endeavors. It’s been sheer joy reading The Gift and I enjoyed reading many of the other stories on your blog. Vivid and Gripping. Thank you for sharing your writings, Meera.

    Reply

  6. Meera
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 14:04:56

    Hi Harish, Thanks for that idea. And thank you for reading the other stories. This is a blog that not many people visit or read so every comment here is appreciated!

    Reply

    • Harish
      Jul 31, 2013 @ 14:34:19

      Hi Meera,

      I don’t mean to give you unsolicited suggestion but you can put all your stories in one e-book and self-publish them on Amazon. It’s extremely simple. Put all your stories in a word document and you can download a free software like Calibre and convert your book into an e-book (.epub) and go to http://kdp.amazon.com and upload your book. If you put the word “story” or “stories” in the title of your book then many readers searching for the keyword story/stories on Amazon will find your book. I’m saying all this because I don’t know how else to express my joy and gratitude I felt on reading your stories. Besides, many more like me could enjoy if your book is available on a wider platform (once again, Amazon’s more than sufficient to begin with).

      Best,
      Harish

      Reply

      • Meera
        Jul 31, 2013 @ 14:44:37

        Yes Harish I went to the Amazon site and registered. But I find that the books have to be priced. This has flummoxed me a bit for the following reasons

        1. I don’t know how to price my book 2. I am not sure if I can earn money from publishing as I also have a full time job. I need to check with my company and it is rather silly to go with this request considering that it is not Harper Collins or Penguin who is publishing this.

        But thanks a ton for the encouragement. BTW, I did not realize that you were associated with Blog Adda !

  7. Harish
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 18:29:18

    Even I didn’t know that I was associated with BlogAdda. 🙂 I mean to say, I’m not linked with them or anyone else.
    You can price your book at 99 cents or more. But yes, if the conditions in your employment contract prohibit you to engage in gainful occupation outside your work, you may want to get a written approval from your employer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

